Ghanaians go to the polls

Ghanaians have taken to the polls today to elect their president and 275 Members of Parliament, with voting taking place between 7am and 5pm.

Seven presidential candidates are contesting for the highest office in the land.

The candidates are incumbent President John Dramani Mahama of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC); Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo of the leading opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP); Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP); Dr Edward N. Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC) and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate.

The candidate who wins 50% plus one of the votes wins the presidential contest and will govern for four years.

If no candidate wins an absolute majority, there will be a run-off vote between the top two candidates two weeks later.

Figures from the Electoral Commission (EC) show that there are 15 712 499 eligible voters who can cast their ballots at 28 992 polling stations.

Ghana returned to constitutional rule in 1992 and has elected its presidents and MPs in regularly conducted elections in 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012.

Source: South African Government News Agency