Minister Brown accepts Eskom board member’s resignation

Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown has received and accepted the resignation of Eskom board member, Mark Pamesky.

In a statement on Tuesday, Minister Brown said she had accepted Pamesky’s request to step down as a non-executive director at the power utility.

This request was conveyed to Minister Brown by Eskom’s board.

Minister Brown, as shareholder representative for Eskom, Transnet, Denel, SA Express, Alexkor and SAFCOL, appoints non-executive directors to the six State-owned companies in her portfolio.

“After careful consideration, I have accepted Mr Pamensky’s resignation. He made an invaluable contribution over the past year to Eskom. I want to thank Mr Pamensky for his contribution to Eskom and wish him well,” said Minister Brown.

With the resignation, the Eskom board will require additional non-executive directors to address vacancies at the board.

“I intend submitting my recommendations to Cabinet soon and strengthening the board to ensure that the trend we have seen from Eskom’s mid-term results continues,” said Minister Brown.

Pamensky’s resignation follows on the resignation of Group Chief Executive Brian Molefe last week.

Source: South African Government News Agency