EU states agree to suspend flights from seven southern African states

Published by

EU member states have agreed to suspend passenger flights from seven southern African countries to contain a new, potentially more dangerous coronavirus variant, dpa learned from diplomatic sources on Friday. The European Commission proposed activating the so-called “emergency brake” to the bloc’s shared coronavirus travel rules earlier Friday. The move was signed off by the member states within hours. The countries concerned are Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, the sources said. Travellers from these countries should also be subject to strict quaran…

Read More

Leave a Reply